Preparing to Write an obituary


Research has found that preparing to write an obituary can often prove to be therapeutic, not only for the individual, but for the family as well. By drafting the obituary in advance, the family can often begin to come to terms with the pending death and help begin to process the emotions that will ensue.

It can also be a sense of pride for the individual and their family to look back on the accomplishments of a life. Too often, obituaries are drafted by family members hastily in an effort to finalize all the arrangements. Although they have good intentions, the obituaries read as generic recaps of life, blending in with all the others appearing in the newspaper. Many times, the family leaves this task to the funeral director, who may never have known the individual and only had sketchy biographical information to go on.

Everyone's life story, no matter how seemingly simple, is worth telling. We find that families who initially think there is not much to say are surprised to see how much there is to tell about their loved one if given time to think about it. An obituary need not be overly long or verbose to be meaningful.

For those who wish to write their own obituaries and paid death notices, click on the following link: Guide to writing an obituary

The following are e-mail addresses for obituary departments of all daily New Hampshire newspapers along with the telephone number. We have also included e-mail addresses of several weekly papers and out of state newspapers as well. Once you submit an obituary, it is important to contact the newspaper to confirm receipt and make arrangements for payment. 


 New Hampshire Daily Newspapers 

Claremont Eagle Times: news@eagletimes.com 603-543-3100
Concord Monitor: obits@cmonitor.com 603-224-5301
Fosters Daily Democrat: obits@fosters.com 603-516-2984
Keene Sentinel: news@keenesentinel.com 603-352-1234
Laconia Citizen: obits@citizen.com 603-524-3800
Nashua Telegraph: obits@nashuatelegraph.com 603-594-6550
Portsmouth Herald: obits@seacoastonline.com 603-436-1800
Union Leader: obits@unionleader.com 603-668-4321
Valley News: vnobits@vnews.com 603-298-8711

 

 New Hampshire Weekly Newspapers 

Bedford Bulletin: editor@yourneighborhoodnews.com 603-472-6500
Bedford Journal: obituary@nashuatelegraph.com 603-594-6550
Berlin Daily Sun: rose@berlindailysun.com 603-752-5858
Berlin Reporter: berlinreporter@salmonpress.com 603-752-1200
Carriage Town News: obituary link 603-642-4499
Carroll County Independent: tbeeler@salmonpress.com 603-569-3126
Connecticut Valley Spectator: adv@cvspectator.com 603-298-7755
Coos County Democrat: democrat@salmonpress.com 603-788-4939
Derry News: editor@derrynews.com 603-437-7000
Exeter Newsletter: ehobits@seacoastonline.com 603-436-1800
Granite State News: gsn@salmonpress.com 603-569-3126
Hampton Union: ehobits@seacoastonline.com 603-436-1800
Hillsboro Messenger: granitequill@mcttelecom.com 603-464-5588
Hollis/Brookline Journal: obituary@nashuatelegraph.com 603-594-6550
Hooksett Banner: editor@yourneighborhoodnews.com 603-472-6500
Hudson/Litchfield News: news@areanewsgroup.com 603-880-1516
Intertown Record: intertown@conknet.com 603-927-4028
Laconia Daily Sun: ads@laconiadailysun.com 603-527-9299
Littleton Courier: couriernews@salmonpress.com 603-444-3927
Meredith News: mnews@salmonpress.com 603-279-4516
Milford Cabinet: obituary@nashuatelegraph.com 603-673-3100
Monadnock Ledger: obits@ledgertranscript.com 603-924-7172
Pelham/Windham News: news@areanewsgroup.com 603-880-1516
Peterborough Transcript: obits@ledgertranscript.com 603-924-7172
Record Enterprise: record@salmonpress.com 603-536-1311
Rochester Times: thetimes@fosters.com 603-332-2300
Salem Observer: editor@yourneighborhoodnews.com 603-472-6500
Suncook Valley Sun: svsun@aol.com 603-435-6291
Conway Daily Sun: alec@conwaydailysun.com 603-356-3456
Gilford Steamer: record@salmonpress.com 603-279-4516
Goffstown News: editor@yourneighborhoodnews.com 603-472-6500
Plymouth Record: record@salmonpress.com 603-279-4516
Salem Community Patriot: news@areanewsgroup.com 603-880-1516
Winnisquam Echo: record@salmonpress.com 603-279-4516

 

 Monthly Papers 

Amherst Citizen: acitzn@aol.com 603-672-9444
Hollis Times: hollistimes@tds.net 603-465-2051

 

 Selected Out-of-State Daily Newspapers 

Boston Globe (MA): create your notice 617-929-1500
Caledonian Record (VT): news@caledonian-record.com 802-748-8121
Lawrence Eagle Tribute (MA): submit obituary here 800-681-6248
Lowell Sun (MA): obituaries@lowellsun.com 978-458-7100
New York Times: nytimes@classifiedsplus.net 800-238-4637
Portland (ME) Press Herald: obituary@pressherald.com 800-779-0554

 

If you would like us to submit an obituary, you may email it to us at . Please specify which New Hampshire newspapers you would like us to submit the obituary to. Keep in mind that the editors of each paper have the final say as to when an obituary will run and how it will be worded. Charges for obituaries submitted will appear on your final statement of goods and services selected.

 

243 Hanover Street, Manchester, NH 03104 ~ 172 King Street, Boscawen, NH 03303 ~ 101 Union Street, Littleton, NH 03561
~ 861 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
connecting all locations: 1-800-493-8001 ~ 603-622-1800 ~ FAX: 603-218-6026
www.csnh.com ~ info@csnh.com ~ Privacy Policy ~ Mobile Site

© Copyright  2010-2017 Cremation Society of New Hampshire and FuneralNet®
Peace of Mind Cremation
Learn more about our caring staff
View our onsite chapels
Convenient online arrangements
Become a member
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.